Hello, fellow history nerds!

There’s something about learning about a historical event on the day it happened that increases your appreciation for it; it connects you on a different level.

For example, I never really enjoyed learning about World War I until my history class this year. We are currently learning about the war on a much deeper level than I am used to. Also, we happened to begin studying it around Veterans Day (aka Armistice Day and Remembrance Day), on 11/11. Learning about the war near such an important date to the war enhanced my experience. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s because the year moves on but we (and by “we” I mean all of the inhabitants of the Earth) continue to repeat the same 365 (and 1/4) days over and over.

Although Veteran’s Day has come and gone, here is a small tribute to all who have served and to the day that sparked my interest in learning about history on the day it happened. Poppies, of course, are the symbol of wartime remembrance.

So I started this blog to learn more about history on the day (or week) it actually happened, and to share my research. I’m a history nerd, but definitely not an expert. I’m hoping to expand my knowledge and learn more about the world’s fascinating history.

-Emily

2 thoughts on “Hello, fellow history nerds!

  1. Pingback: Armistice Day, 1918 | History/Herstory

  2. Pingback: It’s My Anniversary! | History/Herstory

I love your feedback! Please leave a comment!

